The Gospel of Satan?

About Thomas Huxley, Darwin remarked:

Darwin called him, ‘My good and kind agent for the propagation of the Gospel—i.e. the devil’s gospel.’1

Apparently, Darwin didn’t have time for proselytizing, but Huxley did. Huxley also gave us the term ‘agnostic.’

Typical and very unfortunate for atheists (the father relationship aspect):

Neglected by his father, he grew up in poverty, with only two years of formal schooling.

I have to say that I respect his ability to educate himself. That is sorely lacking in the world today. Darwin called Huxley:

‘my good and admirable agent for the promulgation of damnable heresies’.

Oddly, I find myself agreeing with certain of Huxley’s statements.

‘If divine authority is not here claimed for the twenty-fourth verse of the second chapter of Genesis, what is the value of language? And again, I ask, if one may play fast and loose with the story of the Fall as a “type” or “allegory,” what becomes of the foundation of Pauline theology?’

In fact, this is some of the reasoning for YEC.

1 http://creationontheweb.com/content/view/6019/

One Response

  1. Typical and very unfortunate for atheists (the father relationship aspect):

    Neglected by his father, he grew up in poverty, with only two years of formal schooling.

    I had a bad relationship with my father, and, as I have read on your other site, I have often wondered (even in my relating to God, now) if my paternal relationship had anything to do with my agnosticism in my twenties and thirties. I believe it did, since it took me a while, even after believing, to truly relate to God as my Father.

    ‘If divine authority is not here claimed for the twenty-fourth verse of the second chapter of Genesis, what is the value of language? And again, I ask, if one may play fast and loose with the story of the Fall as a “type” or “allegory,” what becomes of the foundation of Pauline theology?’

    This is more than an amazing quote, considering the author.

Leave a Reply

