A story of creationist metaphors

Once up on a time there was an Author who wrote with living words who began writing a book about redemption. He knew from the beginning that the book would contain evil and that it would have to be thrown into the fire in the end but he planned to copy some of his words to another book that was good. It was essentially all in his head already, yet there was something different about actually writing it and watching his little living words in his books that seemed very good to him. So he wrote some words and they became more words and they put themselves together differently after he gave them their original meaning. This was fine as far as things went but in the background the Author’s will would be done because he had the final authority. Yet one day some of his periods rebelled and said, “I do not like having to be the period. Look at me…I seem little, small. Why did the author write me this way? I have to be at the end of every sentence cycle and I have to tidy up the ends of little words too. And some little words make a lot of excrement!” So the Author wrote some more words to his periods, “In my next book the last shall be the first, for the greatest of my living words is Love. Period.” But then some of the question marks rebelled and said, “I do not like having to be the question mark. I want all the answers, now! For look at me, all squiggly above the period… is there something odd about me? If I had all the answers then would I still exist? For who am I but the questionable mark of a question?” So the Author wrote some words to them, “Were you there when I bound the pages of this book together? You must quest for the answers. Seek and you shall find! Period.”

And on it went as the Author wrote a story and had conversations with his own words at the same time until one day all the words began to rebel against the authority of the Author at once. At this point the Author wrote with authority, “I will not strive against my own words forever!” Yet then the word Ever just had to reply, “Whatever is that for there for, in front of me! I am more important. After all, I am the ever in everyone!” Finally all the words said the same thing, “We, the words, rebel against our Author! Now we will be as our own authors!” So the Author ripped out the whole page and continued writing, all the while copying words which he wrote to bear witness to his wit over to another story.

After all, the Author of a book always has the last word.

The End

4 Responses

  1. THE WORD which came to Jeremiah from the LORD saying, 2 “Arise and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will announce My WORDS to you.” 3 Then I went down to the potter’s house, and there he was, making something on the wheel. 4 But the vessel that he was making of clay was spoiled in the hand of the potter; so he remade it into another vessel, as it pleased the potter to make. (Jeremiah)

    In the beginning was THE WORD, and THE WORD was with God, and THE WORD was God. 2 He was in the beginning with God. 3 All things came into being through Him, and apart from Him nothing came into being that has come into being. 4 In Him was life, and the life was the Light of men. 5 The Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it. (John 1)

    Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may know the things freely given to us by God, 13 which things we also speak, not in words taught by human wisdom, but in those taught by the Spirit, combining spiritual thoughts with spiritual words.

    14 But a natural man does not accept the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually appraised. 15 But he who is spiritual appraises all things, yet he himself is appraised by no one. 16 For WHO HAS KNOWN THE MIND OF THE LORD, THAT HE WILL INSTRUCT HIM? But we have the mind of Christ. (1 Corinthians 2)

  2. It’s been a while since I’ve read the Bible, too long really. So I do not know if there are apparent contradictions to this but this: “…he who is spiritual appraises all things…” seems to indicate that the spiritually minded understand the world better than the “worldly.” This would contradict the view of many that “pure” reason can be divorced from faith and so on.

  3. These were just a few verses that came to me as I read your post. I don’t know that I understand the world better than the “worldly”. I just know that I see the world, through the eye of my Spirit, as who I am: an alien, longing for my true home.

    You wrote,

    And on it went as the Author wrote a story and had conversations with his own words at the same time until one day all the words began to rebel against the authority of the Author at once. At this point the Author wrote with authority, “I will not strive against my own words forever!”

    How true your words are, mynym! Unfortunately, most of the folks who frequent this site have hardened their hearts against “the AUTHOR of Life and faith”, and thus, they will probably never experience His truth. The AUTHOR will not strive forever. This is not an idle threat! Some of us sense that day coming, but we refrain, unlike the apostate charlatans, from shouting it on the rooftops, in order to cash in!

    The AUTHOR has blessed you (His WORD and WORK) with a sound mind, great insight and sincerity! I am blessed by what you write, as I am sure is true of others who may never respond here!

    Don’t grow weary of doing good!

  4. Well, pure reason, or the unchanging, infinite (ie: not limited in quality or quantity), transcendent laws of logic requires presupposition of a personal (since logic is applied to concepts of mind) Ultimate that embodies it.

    Even to refute the existence of God requires the presupposition of God!
    Without presupposing God, nothing can ultimately be proved.

    Note the circularity here: If we use reason to prove God’s existence, we are presupposing the very thing we are trying to prove! So, I don’t see how reason and faith can be separated in that respect.

Leave a Reply

